2020 NSW term and vacation dates*

  • Term 1 (Eastern division) - Tuesday 28 January to Thursday 9 April
  • Term 1 (Western division) - Tuesday 4 February to Thursday 9 April
  • Autumn vacation - Monday 13 April to Friday 24 April
  • Term 2 - Monday 27 April to Friday 3 July
  • Winter vacation - Monday 6 July to Friday 17 July
  • Term 3 - Monday 20 July to Friday 25 September
  • Spring vacation - Monday 28 September to Friday 9 October
  • Term 4 - Monday 12 October to Friday 18 December
  • Summer vacation (Eastern division) - Monday 21 December to Tuesday 26 January 2021
  • Summer vacation (Western division) - Monday 21 December to Tuesday 2 February 2021.

Calendar and planner

The following downloads will help you plan your year.

Test and exam dates

  • Selective high school placement test - Thursday 12 March 2020
  • NAPLAN paper test - Tuesday 12 May to Thursday 14 May 2020
  • NAPLAN online test window - Tuesday 12 May to Friday 22 May 2020
  • Opportunity class placement test - Wednesday 29 July 2020
  • VALID Science and Technology 6 and VALID Science 10 - Monday 31 August to Friday 11 September 2020
  • VALID Science 8 - Monday 26 October to Friday 6 November 2020
  • HSC written examinations - Thursday 15 October to Friday 6 November 2020

NAPLAN tests are held in the second full week of May each year. For specific dates and further information, visit National Assessment Program - key datesExternal link.

Tests are held for selective high school and opportunity class placement each year. Visit Selective high schools and opportunity classes for details.

NSW Education Standards Authority (NESA) is responsible for the HSC. To learn more, visit NESA - HSC key datesExternal link.

Register your school for VALID or find out more about the tests and marking key dates.